These changes apply to 3 Caps and Unlimited Caps where you receive unlimited SMS/MMS as part of your monthly allowance, and to the Message Mates Unlimited pack. Generally these changes apply to you if you joined 3 after 17th July, or changed to a new plan after the 17th July. You should refer to the terms and conditions of your plan.
The new terms and conditions mean that you can only use your unlimited allowance to send a SMS/MMS to a personal mobile number that is used by an individual either for their own personal use or on behalf of their employer. Under the new terms and conditions, you cannot use your unlimited allowance to send SMS/MMS to the services including (but not limited to) the following, where the receiver of your SMS/MMS is not a person:
You can still send a SMS/MMS to these services if you wish. However the SMS/MMS will now be treated differently on your bill than a SMS/MMS sent to a personal mobile number. The following scenarios describe how the non-personal SMS/MMS will be treated on the different caps and packs:
No, these changes will not impact prepay customers. They only apply to packs or plans with unlimited SMS/MMS.
If you have unlimited SMS/MMS as part of your pack or plan with 3, a disallowed SMS will be charged at your standard SMS or MMS rate instead of 0c. You can check the charging either on your monthly invoice or by checking your unbilled usage on My3.
Re-routed calls are calls to mobile numbers offered by third parties that then divert, interconnect, re-route or alter the category of the call.
An example of a re-routed call is where you dial an Australian mobile number, and your call is then forwarded to an overseas number that you enter into an IVR.
Call rates vary according to your plan. Please check 3 pricing for details.
Remember that some third party providers of re-routed call services may make claims about the charges that will apply to 3 customers. These claims may not always be correct so you should always check the terms and conditions provided by 3 for your plan.
Re-routed calls are included in some caps and excluded from others. Generally they are included in contract and prepay caps, but excluded from Unlimited plans. If your plan excludes re-routed calls, these will be charged in addition to your minimum monthly spend. You can check this by looking at the details of your specific plan on 3 pricing
There are two possible reasons for this:
(i) Some caps and plans do not have a specific call rate for re-routed calls and on these plans, calls to re-routed call services are charged at the standard mobile rate. If you have recently changed to a plan with a specific re-routed call rate, you will now be charged for these calls.
(ii) Due to technical limitations and the fact that access numbers for re-routed call services change regularly, some re-routed calls may not have been charged at the re-routed call rate in the past. In these cases, they will have been charged at the standard mobile rate for your plan. Even if you have made re-routed calls in the past without being charged the re-routed call rate (and you are on a plan with a specific re-routed call rate), you may still be charged for these in the future.
3 offers competitive rates to call overseas, and overseas calls are included in most of our caps. Our Talk International packs offer even better call rates to many popular calling destinations. We offer great call quality and the convenience of being able to dial your friends and family overseas directly from your mobile's address book. What's more, in many cases, your caller ID will be shown on the screen of the phone you're calling so even if they don't pick up, they'll know you've called. (This won't apply if you've withheld your caller ID.)
In some cases, before your call is connected to some numbers that are considered to be re-routed call services, 3 may play a recorded announcement. This is to let you know that depending on your plan, higher call rates may apply to this call.
Please note that you will not hear the warning message about re-routed calls in all cases. So if you make a call to a re-routed call service and you do not hear the announcement, you may still be charged the re-routed call rate.